Weighing Some Options

So, here’s my dilemma du jour:

As some of you may remember, I’ve been saving up a small nest egg to fund the cover art for my next book, Bestiary. However, I recently learned that I have an impending vet bill for one of my cats that will probably wipe out a large chunk or all of this money. This is obviously not even taking into account any additional marketing/promotional expenses an indie release would entail.

Meanwhile, I just learned a very reputable small press publisher is opening up to submissions. The compensation they offer is extremely competitive, and I have a few “ins” that might help my odds of acceptance a little. On the other hand, getting in would basically nullify the editing I’ve already paid for and take the release details out of my hands.

Needless to say, I’m a little torn, but I am leaning slightly more toward the latter option at the moment. I think I’ll mull it over and sleep on it before coming to a concrete decision.

About prutigli

Patrick Rutigliano grew up on a steady diet of comic books and horror movies. Making his first sale to Permuted press in 2007, he has since placed stories with several publications in addition to his first collection, Black Corners of a Blood-Red Room. The Untimely Deaths of Daryl Handy is his first independent release. During his off time, Patrick can usually be found attempting to recreate foreign cuisine, sacrificing cardboard to his cats, and having spirited debates with his wife over the failings of Disney villains.
This entry was posted in horror, indie, writers, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

