My Writing Process Blog Tour

I was recently tagged by fellow author Ben Eads to take part in this writing process blog tour. In addition to being my chief beta-reader and a cool guy, Ben has been hard at work on his own book, Cracked Sky, which will be released by Omnium Gatherum Media in January of 2015.

Now, let’s get to it, shall we?

What am I currently working on?

I’m currently in the middle of my newest novella, Wind Chill. Following the murder of her mother, a teenage girl’s father becomes increasingly paranoid and obsessed with the idea of disaster “prepping.” Finally believing the end of society is at hand a year later, he whisks his daughter away to a secluded shelter in the dead of winter. Bad stuff goes down from there.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I think I tend to avoid some of the traditional tropes a bit more than the average horror writer. I have no interest in using one the “traditional” monsters unless I can put a truly unique spin on them. I always prefer to create something as original as possible. I’ve also been told my books tend to be very fast paced, so there’s little meandering and/or overindulgent exposition in my work.

Why do I write what I do?

The honest truth is that I don’t like the real world very much. I find everyday life fairly mundane and confining, and I’d have very little interest in exploring it in fiction. Horror lets me bend and break natural laws enough to make the worlds I write far more interesting places, and I get to explore how my characters react to such insanity. I also harbor a pretty deep misanthropic streak, so it’s nice to pretend that there are forces at work more insidious than humanity for a little while.

How does my writing process work?

There’s not a lot to it, really. An idea may come to me abruptly or from reading/watching something interesting. My mind chews on the concept for a bit and lets it foment, slowly forming characters and the major beats of the story. After that, it’s a matter of sitting down and writing at least 1,000 words per day on my laptop until the job is done. This is followed up by a minimum of three rounds of self-editing before I hit up my beta-readers and editor, followed by formatting the book and securing a cover artist.

–And that’s enough out of me for now. But if anybody has any additional questions, feel free to leave them in the comments and I’ll get back to you ASAP.

About prutigli

Patrick Rutigliano grew up on a steady diet of comic books and horror movies. Making his first sale to Permuted press in 2007, he has since placed stories with several publications in addition to his first collection, Black Corners of a Blood-Red Room. The Untimely Deaths of Daryl Handy is his first independent release. During his off time, Patrick can usually be found attempting to recreate foreign cuisine, sacrificing cardboard to his cats, and having spirited debates with his wife over the failings of Disney villains.
This entry was posted in horror, indie, writers, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. Ben Eads says:

    Very insightful post! Wind Chill sounds like a screamer! I can’t wait to read it!

Leave a Reply

