Bestiary Production Update (And Con Lessons) #10

Another Appleseed Comic Con has come and gone. I had a great time co-manning a table with my wife, Hannah, and shooting the breeze with my neighbors in the artist’s alley. While I didn’t sell anything (as I predicted), I had the privilege of being positioned right next to Steve Horton of Amala’s Blade fame.

Now, on top of being a fine writer and a cool guy, Steve is an excellent salesman. Watching him sell his wares over the weekend taught me just how much work I still have to do on my con game, as well as some methods I might be able to adopt for improving it. I’ll never again underestimate how useful it is to literally put something in a person’s hands as he or she is walking by. Next year, I’m definitely going to hand out sample chapters of my books to passersby.

As to production, I’m still debating what direction I want to take for gathering funds. Trading my books to re-sellers probably won’t net me more than a few bucks. About the only other option I can think of is to stake out a parking lot and sell the stuff out of my trunk.

However, there is good news, too. Surviving the Crash is rolling along like gangbusters. I just turned in the final draft yesterday afternoon and got to see the rough version of the cover. Things are looking great on both ends, and I can’t wait to get the novel to you all.

 

About prutigli

Patrick Rutigliano grew up on a steady diet of comic books and horror movies. Making his first sale to Permuted press in 2007, he has since placed stories with several publications in addition to his first collection, Black Corners of a Blood-Red Room. The Untimely Deaths of Daryl Handy is his first independent release. During his off time, Patrick can usually be found attempting to recreate foreign cuisine, sacrificing cardboard to his cats, and having spirited debates with his wife over the failings of Disney villains.
This entry was posted in horror, indie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

